New stuff in the workshop

Here’s a few ideas I’ve been working on lately. I was asked to look at producing some marble tiles for a floor based on Roman Opus Sectile patterns. Opus Sectile is a mosaic made using larger tiles cut to shapes such as triangles, lozenges etc as opposed to the ‘classic’ mosaic being made of tesserae which are all of the same size range.

I had a few left over so I turned them into coasters. IImage thought, ‘this is fun’ so I did some more. It’s been a great exercise in setting out the patterns and cutting the marble to shape so I decided to turn it into a short workshop.

http://www.romanmosaicworkshops.com/Short-courses.html

The pieces are really fast to make and you can follow either Opus Sectile patterns, or Cosmati patterns (medievil about 11th – 12th AD). I’ll be making up some kits too before Christmas.

Leave a Reply

